Fast 5: Panic! at the Disco

They’ve created a couple of earworms

The group has released more than 20 singles, including 2011’s “The Ballad of Mona Lisa” and 2006’s “I Write Sins Not Tragedies,” arguably their best-known song and what put the group on the map. Find out how well you remember the lyrics to “Sins” with this “Buzzfeed” quiz!

The group’s lineup has made many changes in a short amount of time

When it was first formed in 2004, Panic! at the Disco consisted of 4 members: lead singer Brendon Urie, guitarist Ryan Ross, drummer Spencer Smith, and bassist Brent Wilson. Over the last 12 years, everyone but Urie has left the group for various reasons. As the only original member, he still produces new music and tours with 3 touring musicians.

Art imitates life

Guitarist Ryan Ross thought of the story within the song, which takes place at a wedding, after a breakup with his girlfriend. He tried to build a story that told the listener that things were bad, but that they could be much worse despite what had already happened.

They’ve had platinum success

“I Write Sins Not Tragedies” was a top 10 hit in the United States back in 2006. Due to its popularity, sales of their first album, “A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out” were strong and the LP subsequently went double platinum in the U.S. and single platinum in the UK and Australia. However, it wasn’t until “Death of a Bachelor,” Panic!’s most recent album, that the group had a number 1.

Brendon Urie wasn’t supposed to be the lead singer

When Panic! originally formed, guitarist Ryan Ross was supposed to be the lead singer. That all changed when the other members heard current frontman Brendon Urie sing during a rehearsal, deciding that he would be a better choice for lead vocals. Ross did get his chance to shine, though, on “Pretty. Odd.’s” “Behind The Sea,” where he sung the lead.

Don’t miss Panic! at the Disco’s performance at Elliott Hall of Music on Thursday, April 14th!

Panic! at the Disco / Thursday, April 14 / Elliott Hall of Music / 7:30 pm

Buy Tickets
From $35-49